Animal Story

A Hungry Lion; or, A Dwindling Assortment of Animals by Lucy Ruth Cummins

Posted on

a hungry lion_web.jpgALSC Notable Book 2017. Animals disappear one by one, except for a hungry lion. Perhaps the lion is to blame, but could there be another explanation for these rapidly disappearing critters? Cummins’ enjoyably repetitive text and droll illustrations give each animal a personality, despite their pending departure, from the stand-out sauciness of the lion to the affable nature of the ever-present turtle. The stark backgrounds play this up and allow each character to stand out. They reappear at a surprise party, but the tables turn–again (and again)–until ultimately one unexpected survivor remains. All the carnage (both real and assumed) takes place off-page, potentially furthering confusion caused by the story’s many twists. Illustrations in brush marker, gouache, graphite, colored pencil, and charcoal playfully contrast with the macabre undertones.

Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run! An Alphabet Caper by Mike Twohy

Posted on

Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run! An Alphabet Caper_webGeisel Honor Book 2017. The turbulent relationship between a yellow dog and a gray mouse unfolds through a snappy alphabetical series of words and phrases by New Yorker cartoonist, Mike Twohy. An alphabetical romp tells what happens when Dog accidentally rolls his ball into sleeping Mouse’s house. Dog is irritated about the missing ball and winds up chasing Mouse out of his den and all through the house. This clever romp carries beginning readers on an epic chase using common and decodable words and strong illustrative cues to move the action forward. In the vein of Tom and Jerry, Bugs Bunny, and other classic cartoons, “Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run!” is a hilarious alphabet caper.

Good Night Owl, by Greg Pizzoli

Posted on

good night owl_webGeisel Honor Book 2017. As owl is going to sleep, he is repeatedly interrupted by a “squeak”. He’ll never get to sleep unless he can figure out what’s going on! Determined to find its source, Owl tears apart his house from cupboard to floorboard to roof. But while he’s busy tearing his house apart, he doesn’t notice one tiny, squeaky, mouse-shaped detail…Will Owl ever get a good night’s sleep? Greg Pizzoli is the author-illustrator of the 2013 Geisel Award winner “The Watermelon Seed”.

The One and Only Ivan by K.A. Applegate

Posted on Updated on

the one and only ivan_webA Newbery Medal Winner 2013. Ivan is an easygoing gorilla. Living at the Exit 8 Big Top Mall and Video Arcade, he has grown accustomed to humans watching him through the glass walls of his domain. He rarely misses his life in the jungle. In fact, he hardly ever thinks about it at all.

Instead, Ivan thinks about TV shows he’s seen and about his friends Stella, an elderly elephant, and Bob, a stray dog. But mostly Ivan thinks about art and how to capture the taste of a mango or the sound of leaves with color and a well-placed line.

Then he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from her family, and she makes Ivan see their home–and his own art–through new eyes. When Ruby arrives, change comes with her, and it’s up to Ivan to make it a change for the better.

Handful of Stars by Cynthia Lord

Posted on

a handful of stars_web.jpgWhen 12-year-old Lily’s blind dog, Lucky, slips his leash and runs away across the blueberry barrens of Maine, a young migrant worker named Salma saves him from running into the road with her well-timed gift of a sandwich. The two girls quickly become friends and discover that each has a dream: Lily’s is to earn enough money to pay for eye surgery for Lucky, hoping to restore his sight. Salma’s is to become both an artist and the first migrant worker ever to win the Downeast Beauty Queen pageant. Will their dreams come true? And if they don’t, will their friendship survive? Newbery Honor Book author Lord has written a quiet, gentle story of friendship, which occasionally a bit bland, lacking drama, and, with its few problems, too easily resolved. But the girls’ friendship is appealing, and Lucky—well, Lucky steals the show.

Sprout Street Neighbors: Five Stories by Anna Alter

Posted on

sprout street neighbors_web.jpgA new neighbor has moved to Sprout Street in this early reader series perfect for fans of Clementine, Just Grace, and Ivy & Bean.

Mili has just moved into the empty apartment on Sprout Street all the way from Hawaii–and her new neighbors can’t wait to meet her! Violet is happy there’s someone in the building who shares her love of art. Emma is excited to have a new breakfast buddy. Henry is eager to show off his model ships. Mili is quick to lend a hand when she finds Wilbur in a pickle, and Fernando always welcomes another voice at the weekly Sprout Street meetings.

Of course, sometimes a new friend can take some getting used to, but with neighbors like these, it’s not long before Mili is part of the Sprout Street family, too.

Barefoot Animal Stories by Lari Don, illustrated by Melanie Williamson

Posted on

barefoot animal stories_web.jpegThis series shares animal stories from around the world, perfect for emerging readers. There are four in the series, from Russia, North America, Korea, and Zambia.