Early Reader

Go Otto Go! by David Milgrim

Posted on

Go Otto Go_web.jpgGeisel Honor Book 2017. Otto the robot builds and spaceship in this funny and poignant story which is the latest title in the award-winning “Adventures of Otto” series. Since landing on Earth, Otto has made many friends, but what Otto wants most is to visit his family. Will Otto’s spaceship take him up, up, up so he can go, go, go? But with an “uh-oh” Otto goes “down, down, down”. When he looks up from the wreckage of his spaceship to see his jubilant friends, he realizes he’s looking at his home and his found family. Milgrim combines very few words arranged in easy-to-decode patterns with a balance of laugh-out-loud slapstick and honest emotion.

Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run! An Alphabet Caper by Mike Twohy

Posted on

Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run! An Alphabet Caper_webGeisel Honor Book 2017. The turbulent relationship between a yellow dog and a gray mouse unfolds through a snappy alphabetical series of words and phrases by New Yorker cartoonist, Mike Twohy. An alphabetical romp tells what happens when Dog accidentally rolls his ball into sleeping Mouse’s house. Dog is irritated about the missing ball and winds up chasing Mouse out of his den and all through the house. This clever romp carries beginning readers on an epic chase using common and decodable words and strong illustrative cues to move the action forward. In the vein of Tom and Jerry, Bugs Bunny, and other classic cartoons, “Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run!” is a hilarious alphabet caper.

Good Night Owl, by Greg Pizzoli

Posted on

good night owl_webGeisel Honor Book 2017. As owl is going to sleep, he is repeatedly interrupted by a “squeak”. He’ll never get to sleep unless he can figure out what’s going on! Determined to find its source, Owl tears apart his house from cupboard to floorboard to roof. But while he’s busy tearing his house apart, he doesn’t notice one tiny, squeaky, mouse-shaped detail…Will Owl ever get a good night’s sleep? Greg Pizzoli is the author-illustrator of the 2013 Geisel Award winner “The Watermelon Seed”.

Heidi Heckelbeck Casts a Spell by Wanda Coven, illustrated by Priscilla Burris

Posted on

heidi heckelbeck_web.jpg
Heidi Heckelbeck seems like any other eight-year-old, but she has a secret: She’s a witch in disguise. Careful to keep her powers hidden (but excited to use them all the same), Heidi’s learning to live like any other kid—who just happens to be witch. And with easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, Heidi Heckelbeck chapter books are perfect for beginning readers. 

Thanks to meanie Melanie Maplethorpe, Heidi is cast as a scary tree in the school play, The Wizard of Oz. Heidi decides to get even with Melanie by casting a spell on her. The result of the spell? Melanie—who has the lead role as Dorothy—will forget her lines. As the day of the play nears, Heidi carefully collects all the ingredients she needs. But when she casts her spell, will Heidi’s revenge be as sweet as she thinks?

Geronimo Stilton by Geronimo Stilton

Posted on

geronimo stilton_web.jpgHoley Cheese! Imported from Italy, this snazzy series debut about a globetrotting mouse journalist spreads the cheesy puns nice and thick. On an average day, Geronimo Stilton edits The Rodent’s Gazette, the newspaper of New Mouse City, capital of Mouse Island. But at the coaxing of his sister, Thea, and various relatives, Stilton sates his yen for adventure-and adventure writing by embarking on various excursions and recording and illustrating his exploits in a diary that serves as source material for his books. Stilton, Thea, cousin Trap and nephew Benjamin board a ship in search of buried treasure on a secret deserted island. The trip is filled with peril and plenty of humor, though the treasure isn’t what anyone expected. The book’s lightning pace and its numerous chapters, as well as a full-color design that displays keywords in color type and fun fonts, will hook kids in a flash. And those with a taste for Stilton’s breezy style will surely want to devour future “whisker-licking-good stories,” as the author calls them.

Clementine by Sara Pennypacker, illustrated by Marla Frazee

Posted on

clementine_web.jpgWhile sorting through difficulties in her friendship with her neighbor Margaret, eight-year-old Clementine gains several unique hairstyles while also helping her father in his efforts to banish pigeons from the front of their apartment building. Series.

The Zack Files by Dan Greenberg, illustrated by Jack. E Davis

Posted on

the zack files_web.jpgOff the wall humor! Features illustrated first chapter books about Zack, an unflappably normal 10-year-old to whom strange things keep happening.